What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Links

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at 6:00 in the Media Center.

September 19, 2019

November 14, 2019

February 20 2020

March 19, 2020

April 16, 2020

Council Members

Please feel free to email any member of the group with items you would like to have presented at our next meeting.  

Kelly Tauteoli – Principal
2018-2019
801-826-5600
kelly.tauteoli@canyonsdistrict.org

Shelly Karen – Assistant Principal
2018-2019
801-826-5600
shelly.karen@canyonsdistrict.org

Michelle Erb – Faculty 
2018-2019
801-826-5600
michelle.erb@canyonsdistrict.org

Amy Kinder – Faculty 
2018-2019
801-826-5600
amy.kinder@canyonsdistrict.org

Lynn Nelson – Counselor 
2018-2019
801-826-7523
lynn.nelson@canyonsdistrict.org

RJ Graham – Parent
2018-2019
rjgraham72@gmail.com

Brian Mecham – Parent 
2018-2019
byufan99@yahoo.com

Amanda Stevens – Parent 
2018-2019
soccermom.stevens@gmail.com

Anne Thomsen – Parent 
2018-2019
bdthomsen@yahoo.com

Stacey Timmerman – Parent
2018-2019
stacey.timmerman@comcast.net

Jessica Vidal – Parent
2018-2019
jvidal@eddirection.com

Jonathan West – Parent 
2018-2019
jonathan.west@cdk.com

Close Menu
Translate »